top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureThe Brown Lipstick

I stayed for Gucci.

Have you bought something purely because of the beautiful packaging or to match?


If you said no, I will question you... really I will. hahahahhh So, let's get this story started. I got a Dionysus Gucci bag for my birthday a couple years ago and when I saw the stunning lipstick by Gucci Beauty. I had a thought.




'How nice would it be if I take out my Gucci lipstick from my Gucci bag?' - Random and wtf, but I am being honest here. I love lipsticks and bags and having the set felt like a dream and #selflove.


In fact, my jaw dropped when I saw the packaging of the Gucci lipstick because it is GOLD. If you are unaware, I love anything gold, very Indian I know hahhaah.

I loved it for two reasons and bear in mind this is one of my birthday gifts to myself. So the concept of it is strictly “SPOIL ME”


Reasons to buy the lipstick

1) GOLD packaging

2) Gucci




However, I have pale lips and lipsticks usually appear lighter on them compared to a hand swatch. Regardless of my reasons, I didn’t want to buy a product that I will never or rarely use. I asked the sales lady to give me a lip swatch ( she sanitized it and all, don’t worry ). When the lipstick glided smoothly on my lips with opaque formulation, the smile on my face was so wide that even the sales lady smiled knowing a sale is happening! The lipstick is opaque and hydrating.. like WHAAATTT!!

I understand beautiful packaging is awesome but don’t buy a product merely for that reason. Always check reviews if you cannot physically go to the store. ( I know many of you give in to online sales, also yours truly ) . There are multiple reviews out there for a single product so read a few and summarize the quality.




Now, let's get into the Gucci Lipstick


I got the shade 106 Tacey Hazel from the 36 shades Satin collection. I usually go for Matte formula but that only options were Satin and Balm. I went for satin formula in a brownish shade ( DUH) . The Satin formula is opaque but hydrating! Honestly, I was shocked with the application which lead me to another Gucci lipstick purchase when they newly launched their Matte line in January, 2020.


PRODUCT DETAILS ( from the official Gucci website )

A vibrant collection of creamy, colour-rich lipsticks with a long-lasting finish, the Rouge à Lèvres Satin lip colour delivers bold pigment with an ultra-light and moisturizing feel that leaves lips smooth and soft. The first chapter in a new story for Gucci Beauty, born under the creative direction of Alessandro Michele, a range of brilliantly coloured shades are inspired by iconic Hollywood movies and characters from the gilded era. The bold colour palette speaks to the eccentric and free-spirited mood of the House's collections—an unconfined and unlimited form of self-expression—with each lipstick encased within precious gold-toned packaging etched with an intricately engraved design.

  • 106 Tacey Hazel (Hazel Clay)

  • Satin finish lipstick

  • Saturated with pigment for intense, long-wearing colour

  • Moisturizing formula contains a mix of waxes and resin to grip the lips

  • Floral fragrance with violet notes and a soft, fruity scent

  • Dermatologically tested

  • Inspired by the designs of vintage makeup, the lipstick is presented in a gold-toned tube etched with a decorative Art Deco influenced motif

  • The lipsticks within all of the collections can be layered and blended to create new colours and finishes

  • This shade can be used as a blush to create a flush of colour on the cheeks. Can be applied in the following ways: create 2 to 3 small strokes directly onto the cheek then blend in with fingers, warm up some product on the fingertips and pat delicately onto the apple of the cheeks, blend in the product using a blush brush in an upward motion from the center of the face toward the temples

  • 21.5 mm x 72 mm x 21.5 mm

  • Please note, returns on this item will only be accepted if the original protective packaging is intact.


Currently, there are six different formulas ;


Price: USD42

Worth the price: Packaging is gorgeous but the formula / colour are dupable.


@thebrownlipstick approved!!

Product Rating: 4/5


192 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page