top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureThe Brown Lipstick

It's a GIVEAWAY. It's Limited Edition. It's L'oreal & Balmain




Have you heard of the L'oreal X Balmain collection? It has 12 different shades going from a nude to a blue. Yes, you read that right, a BLUE SHADE! How cool is that?


This is a Limited Collection and was sold out quick.i mean who expected L'Oreal ( drugstore brand ) to collaborate with a high-end brand like Balmain? I know I did not! I remember when I first saw the advertisement, I was so excited and thought to myself, i will get the whole collection or nothing at all. Then I could say I own some BALMAIN lipstick!! I tried getting one shade ( brown , DUH ) but it just felt incomplete and wasn't in stock ( destiny ).


Luckily, when I was traveling home from vacation and of course I went into the cosmetics section at duty free. I saw it, I got excited ( price did not matter at that point, thanks to scarcity ) ,showed my bestie as I need her "GET IT" and paid for it with the biggest smile on my face! NOW, let's get into the review.


The 12 shades are divided into three tribes with different colour packaging with four shades each. Let's start with the first tribe : The Glamazon Tribe



1) The Glamazon Tribe


Urban Safari - pale nude


I personally I did not like this shade because it is way too light for my skin tone. However, I could make it work a brown lipliner. ( which I have plenty :D )


Glamazone - cool tone grey


When you hear "cool tone grey", I dont know what you think of but I can only think of " will i remind people of a zombie"? Would you think that?


Anyways, this shade surprisingly looked better than I expected, could totally make it work.


Fever - soft orange


This is a shade that is described as a "hot lava explosion" and I don't fully agree. Lava would be a bright orange while this shade is a toned down orange shade which makes it flattering for many skin tones. (looks amazing on me !!)


Balmain Instinct - soft khahi green with small glitter particles


A dark green lipstick shade, when will you apply this you wonder... well anytime. This shade isn't that weird looking. I believe because the green is so deep that when applied it just looks like any darker lipstick which is normal. Though, on the down side, the shade does not have an easy application. It is not as opaque as the other shades. Apply it at least 5 times over to get some opaqueness. (this will vary with the colour of your lips)


I did enjoy the buttery formula of the lipsticks. They are not your traditional matte or creamy lipsticks but they are right in between. However, the opaqueness of the lipsticks is not constant which is usually predicted when darker shades are present in a collection. Review for the other two tribes will be coming soon.


You can read more on this collection on L'Oreal


Ingredients

Dimethicone, Bis-Diglyceryl Polyacyladipate-2, Hydrogenated Polyisobutene, Phenyl Trimethicone, Tridecyl Trimellitate, Ozokerite, Hydrogenated Jojoba Oil, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Isostearyl Isostearate, Kaolin, Isohexadecane, Vinyl Dimethicone/Methicone Silsesquioxane Crosspolymer, Nylon-12, Alumina, Polyethylene, Calcium Aluminum Borosilicate, Silica, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Geraniol, Aluminum Hydroxide, Magnesium Silicate, Bht, Benzyl Alcohol, Calcium Sodium Borosilicate, Tocopheryl Acetate, Camellia Oleifera Seed Oil, Rosa Canina Fruit Oil, Hexyl Cinnamal, Colophonium / Rosin, Hydroxycitronellal, Tin Oxide, Methyl-2-Octynoate, Tocopherol, Propylene Glycol, Propyl Gallate, Citric Acid, Parfum / Fragrance, <+/- May Contain: Ci 77891 / Titanium Dioxide, Ci 77491, Ci 77492, Ci 77499 / Iron Oxides, Mica, Ci 45380 / Red 22 Lake, Ci 45410 / Red 28 Lake, Ci 15850 / Red 7, Ci 15985 / Yellow 6 Lake, Ci 77742 / Manganese Violet, Ci 19140 / Yellow 5 Lake, Ci 42090 / Blue 1 Lake, Ci 15850 / Red 7 Lake, Ci 77120 / Barium Sulfate, Ci 75470 / Carmine>. (F.I.L. B189857/3).


✔ smooth application ( varies from colours, watch the video below )

✔ comfortable matte

✔ lasts 3-4 hours

✔ not too expensive

✖ colours might not suit everyone


Thank for reading guys! Don't forget to go to my Instagram page and JOIN the giveaway! Winner will be announced on 11th July, 2019.


@Thebrownlipstick - Sandy







44 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page